Cyber Junkie – Back at Last

Finally! We have internet again!

I hadn’t realized how dependant I was on the internet until I had to spend a couple of months without it.  My only glimpse into the “cyber” world was my iPhone….. I’m not sure when or how it happened, but I have become a Cyber Junkie.

12 years ago, I did not own a computer.  The internet was a foreign word to me.  I had a cell phone for “emergency use” only, so kept it turned off all the time.  I had a few friends who owned Pagers, but  I thought they were ridiculous unless needed for a job.  I refused to be at someones beck and call 24 hours a day.  The most technologically advanced equipment I owned was my answering machine.

Flash Forward to present day:  I carry around a small handheld computer/phone (iPhone) all day long.  It stays on me constantly. I keep it in my pocket, and if I do not have a pocket I will carry it around in my hand.  I don’t even go to the bathroom without carrying it in with me.  I can’t count the number of times a day I check Facebook and Twitter on my phone, not to mention my emails.  If I try to call my husband and he doesn’t pick up (unless he is working) I get mad.  I EXPECT him to be available 24/7.  I get so aggravated at my children when they leave their ringers off and I can’t get a hold of them.  If I drive anywhere that I haven’t been before, I have to take my GPS.  I don’t ever refer to maps anymore, I put all my faith and trust in the GPS to show me the way.

Once we moved into our new place, we had to wait a bit before getting internet set up out here.  Being out in the “country” we had to find a Service Provider that serviced this area, and we had to buy the necessary equipment.  During this time, my iPhone has been the only thing that has kept my sanity.  I had serious withdrawals from being cut off from the cyber world.  There is only so much that the iPhone can do.

I can go without Cable.  I can go without Television.  But DO NOT mess with my Internet!  🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Cyber Junkie – Back at Last

  1. I know, right? I remember when pagers first came out and everybody had to have one. I had one, but I HATED it. And when cell phones first came out, I laughed at all the yuppies that had to have them. Now, I am lost without my phone. And to NOT have internet for me would be the biggest handicap you could imagine. I do EVERYTHING online – banking, shopping, writing, catching up with friends . . . so, yeah, I know EXACTLY how you feel!!

    • My husband signed up with Twitter YEARS ago. I remember him telling me about it, and thinking to myself, why would anyone care what you are doing? Who would even read that? Later he signed up with Facebook and finally convinced me to create a facebook account. I created it to appease him, but immediately found some friends from highschool and was soon addicted. Now I am on Facebook AND Twitter numerous times daily. I spend hours reading everyones tweets and updates. LOL.

  2. hahahaha. Yes, technology definitely has it’s good and bad sides. And the good is definitely knowledge at your fingertips and it’s so convenient.
    http://reflectionsofanavywife.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

